## Embargoed until 7 May, 10:00 CET

# Press Release new EMBO Members 2014 - final version

# EMBO enlarges its membership for 50<sup>th</sup> anniversary

**Heidelberg, 07 May 2014** – EMBO announced today that 106 outstanding researchers in the life sciences were newly elected to its membership. One hundred of the scientists reside in Europe and neighbouring countries; six Associate Members were elected from China, Japan and the United States. The EMBO Membership currently comprises more than 1600 life scientists.

EMBO has decided to strategically expand the scope of its membership on the occasion of its 50<sup>th</sup> anniversary to honour the progress that has been made in the fields of neuroscience and ecology & evolution. The 106 new members for 2014 include 50 scientists who have made exceptional contributions to these research areas.

"For the 50<sup>th</sup> anniversary of EMBO we are extremely pleased to welcome significantly more researchers to our membership than in previous years," EMBO Director Maria Leptin said. "In the past decades, many of the concepts, techniques and insights of molecular biology have been applied to fundamental questions in other disciplines of the life sciences. Molecular explanations are now emerging for the origins and functions of complex systems like the brain and the living world around us. We wanted to reflect more of these exciting developments in our membership."

Leptin added: "Great leaps in scientific progress often arise when fundamental approaches like molecular biology are applied to previously unconsidered or emerging disciplines. Looking forward, we want to ensure that all communities of the life sciences benefit from this type of cross-pollination."

The most recent scientists to join the EMBO membership come from 17 different countries and include 21 female scientists.

"It is a great pleasure to welcome all new members to our organization. I look forward to their contributions to our work to support the wider scientific community," Leptin said.

EMBO Members make invaluable contributions to the organization by providing suggestions and feedback on the activities of EMBO. They serve on selection committees for EMBO programmes and mentor young scientists. Their input has helped to promote excellence in life sciences since 1964.

Newly elected members and associate members are:

#### **NEW EMBO MEMBERS 2014**

Ralf H. Adams, DE

Margarida Amaral, PT

Michalis Averof. FR

Ian T. Baldwin, DE

Nicholas H. Barton, AT

Malcolm Bennett, GB

Per-Olof Berggren, SE

Anna Bigas, ES

Antje Boëtius, DE

Sebastian Bonhoeffer, CH

Déborah Bourc'his, FR

Philippe Bousso, FR

Ineke Braakman, NL

Paul Brakefield, GB

Michael Brecht, DE

Julius F. Brennecke, AT

Thijn R. Brummelkamp, NL

Oliver Brüstle, DE

Johannes Buchner, DE

Carmen Buchrieser, FR

Ian Chambers, GB

Brian Charlesworth, GB

Deborah Charlesworth, GB

Emmanuelle Charpentier, DE

Philippe Chavrier, FR

Daniel Choquet, FR

Rui M. Costa, PT

Stanislas Dehaene, FR

Winfried Denk, DE

Emmanouil Dermitzakis, CH

Raymond Dolan, GB

Peter Donnelly, GB

Yadin Dudai, IL

Dieter Ebert, CH

Hans Ellegren, SE

Barry J. Everitt, GB

Tamás F. Freund, HU

Rainer Friedrich, CH

Karl J. Friston, GB

Uta Frith, GB

Anne-Claude Gavin, DE

Sten Grillner, SE

Ilkka Hanski, FI

Volker Haucke, DE

Albert J.R. Heck, NL

Peter Hegemann, DE

Carsten Janke, FR

Jukka Jernvall, FI

Mike Jetten, NL

Henrik Kaessmann, CH

John Kendrick-Jones, GB

René F. Ketting, DE

Ole Kiehn, SE

David Komander, GB

Loeske E.B. Kruuk, GB

Gilles Laurent, DE

Zoi Lygerou, GR

Troy W. Margrie, GB

Michela Matteoli, IT

Robert M. May, GB

Gil McVean, GB

Pascal Meier, GB

Randolf Menzel, DE

Hannah Monyer, DE

Richard G.M. Morris, GB

J. Colin Murrell, GB

Marco Muzi-Falconi. IT

Stéphane Noselli, FR

John O'Keefe, GB

Isabelle Olivieri, FR

Christine A. Orengo, GB

Julian Parkhill, GB

Josephine Pemberton, GB

Antoine Peters, CH

Lluis Quintana-Murci, FR

Giacomo Rizzolatti, IT

Sabrina Sabatini, IT

Erik Sahai, GB

Vincent Savolainen, GB

Christopher Schofield, GB

Wolfram Schultz, GB

Erin Schuman, DE

Peter Schuster, AT

Giorgio Scita, IT

Idan Segev, IL

Michael Sieweke, FR

Wolf Singer, DE

Michael Sixt, AT

# Under embargo until 10.00 am Central European Time Wednesday May 7

Peter Somogyi, GB
Haim Sompolinsky, IL
Christian Spahn, DE
Karen Steel, GB
Christoph M. Tang, GB
Daniel Vaulot, FR
Scott Waddell, GB
Andreas Wagner, CH
E. Gerhart H. Wagner, SE
Markus Wahl, DE
Nina Wedell, GB
Stuart A. West, GB

### **NEW ASSOCIATE MEMBERS**

Susan Gottesman, US Tomas Kirchhausen, US Sandra L. Schmid, US David L. Spector, US Xiaodong Wang, CN Yoshinori Watanabe, JP